Around The House

24 Jan

During my blogging absence some things were going down around our little split level.  It was not all doom and gloom, see this post.  Decisions were finalized, book shelves got ordered, walls were painted and nightstands were finished.  More in detail in later posts but lets take a look at what has been done.

West Elm came a knocking on Friday with back-ordered shelves for the office!  Holla, best boxes to come home to after a long work week.  Now they just need to be hung.

Calla Lamp from Furbish on…my….desk.  Sitting  oh so pretty and sculptural.   Perfect lamp to keep the Domino Book of Decorating company.  Speaking of books I received Katie Ridder Rooms for Christmas and it is even better than anticipated, just awesome!  Post and amazing pictures here on my LOVE of Miss Katie and her mad design skillz. 

That little digital art print in the background is by Puffed PeoniesCheck them out on Etsy, very cool computer generated illustrations. I’ve been eying up some of their zig-zag patterns, maybe for Tim’s office.  Mine so desperately needs to be framed.  Feeling an Ikea run soon they have a great frame department and excellent prices.  

Finally made a decision on choice of mirror for the dining room and I could not be happier!  Read my thoughts on our dining space here. Ended up going with what I really wanted instead of picking a   cheaper option.  That would have entailed many trips to Homegood, thrift stores and hours spent looking over Craigslist.  Belive me I enjoy all that but when you find exaclly what you want it is difficult to picture anything elise.

A special thank you to my sweet boyfriend Tim for going above and buying this for Christmas! So very unexpected and thoughtful.  If only we were as thoughtful to each other when we were trying to hang the mirror.  It was *#$&)ing brutal!

This is just a tiny space beside the bed in our guest bedroom.  Homegoods has been well…..good to me lately. The night stand, little vase and lamp came from them.  Naturally I forgot to take before pics but the night stand was a distressed black finish and not so good lookingMore on that process later but spray paint rules my face a little!  The vintage magazine ads are from a local antique mall and I have two more that I’m not sure yet what to do with yet.  Oh and the walls are to be painted a chocolate brown.

CAN NOT WAIT!



Leave a Reply

