What To Do With Nancy?

30 Jul

So I have a dilemma.  I wanted to have Nancy sanded and ready to be stained by now.  Who is Nancy you may ask? She is my $20 Craigslist find that came to live with us.  Click the link above to see what I am talking about.  Lets bask in Nancy’s presence again:

Why Nancy you ask.  Nancy is a fun name but classic at the same time kind of  like the buffet itself.  I know, I know.  Call me crazy, I don’t care.  See, I have been on the hunt for a buffet for almost two years now.  Never thinking I would find one so inexpensive or in good condition.   So yes I will name my furniture if I want to.  I have a lamp named Florence, wait till you meet her, she pretty.

My issue is I now can’t decide if I want to paint or keep the integrity of the wood and stain her the same color she is now.  Originally I wanted a simple buffet painted either black or white depending on other aspects of the room.  Now because of the piece’s historical period I’m not so sure.  I’m not one of those people that freak out if you paint solid wood.  In fact I love painted furniture.  However, Nancy is unique and I love the finish.  The dining table, which we don’t have yet, will be in a warm chestnut finish. I do not want the pieces to look like I was trying to match them.  Hate that with a blinding fiery passion.  Anyway, I was looking up painted mid century modern furniture and I could not find many examples.

Via Apartment Therapy

Via Design*Sponge

Massuo Warner Miller via La Dolce Vita

The space Nancy will be in does not get much natural light.  I feel the white would really brighten the space quite a bit and make it feel more open.  On the other hand the piece is up on legs so visually at least it does not take up a lot of room.

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

I love the fine grain of the wood, clean and smooth, it fits the piece well.  If I were to stain her the grain would show with paint not so much.  Also, down the road if I wanted change the finish paint would be a much bigger pain to remove.

Tomorrow I am off to Lowes to look over paint and stain.  By Monday hopefully I will have decided.  Anyone out there have any thoughts on painted mid century furniture.  If you do just bring them my way.  

One Response to “What To Do With Nancy?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dining Room Thoughts « Amesbury Road Interiors - July 31, 2011

    […] all this talk about Nancy and what to do with her I thought I would share some ideas for the space itself.  Remember it is a work in progress so no […]

Leave a Reply

