$20 Will Make You Holla!

14 Jul

I am a serious Craigslist junky.  Everyday looking, hunting through post after post, never finding anything that works.  I would see things that had so much potential but nothing for me.  Until one day about three weeks ago when this popped up.

The seller was asking for $20.00.  Yes, you read that correctly only $20.00!  Could not believe it, I had been looking for a sideboard forever.  Rushed to e-mail the seller thinking there is no way this was still available for that asking price.  She said it was, I asked for the dimensions.  Amazingly, they were perfect for the dining room space and would still give me enough room for two chairs on either side.  Of coarse we picked it up the next day.

Many similar mid century modern pieces can sell for $300-$500 depending on the condition.  There is no information on the manufacturer but it made of sold mahogany and has a sticker from the Mahogany Association in the left drawer.  Most if not all solid mahogany furniture made before 1969 was given an individual number. Nancy, as I like to call my new find is Number 620.  I would love to find more information but there is not much out there.

Oh the hardware. The lower handles are brass and these are silver. Love a mix.

Brass feet need a little polish

As you might have noticed her finish is a bit rough.  My brand spanking new hand sander is all ready to go.  I will be posting about that debacle, makes me nervous project next week.  Does anyone out there have any awesome Craigslist stories, please share if you do.  If I see any amazing items on Craigslist I will share them on this here blog.

                                                                                                                      

9 Responses to “$20 Will Make You Holla!”

  1. auntlainey December 11, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I stumbled across your Nancy while searching for the manufacturer of my 620 pieces. Just purchased yesterday. Three pieces of the bedroom suite refinished from the original blonde mahogany. My cousin was almost willing to give the stuff away (my great uncle and aunt’s things) just to be rid of. I got three for $50. I’d love to take back to the original color (if I could find what it originally looked like.

    I love your Nancy.

    • Amesbury Road Interiors December 11, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Hello, thanks for reading! Maybe search online to see if there are examples of the the original finish color or find a book on period furniture. Nancy was actually easy to stain, I followed the directions on the Minwax can and read a tutorial on Young House Love.com. The stain took to the wood nicely. PS-$50 is an amazing price for three pieces. Good luck with your search, let me know how everything turns out!

      • auntlainey December 11, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

        Thank you so much for the info on tutorial.

  2. M B June 9, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Hello. I am selling a friends nightstand that matches your Nancy. It was nice to find your posting while attempting to value the nightstand. Since you have one piece, I thought you might be interested in aquiring another. Cheers. It is all original. The exterior is in far better condition than the piece you own. The following describes it.

    MAHOGANY NIGHT STAND. This uniquely attractive night stand is “Genuin Mahogany that grow only in the West Indies, Tropicas America and West Coast of Africa.” Manufactured by Mahogany Association, Inc. the design is Number 620. Most of its construction is from solid mahogany with a small percentage that are mahogany veneer covered plywood. Two drawers of dove tail construction, viewable in the photographs, conveniently hold numerous items out of view and keep them dust free. The drawer knobs are diamond shaped, brushed silver. The top drawer has a sleek, thin brass horizontal strip that matches brass sleeves adorning the bottom of each leg. Each of these sleeves is attached to a metal button the entire stand rests upon. By blending the silver with brass metal, this nightstand is extra attractive and matches more decor.

    Front:

    Right Side:

    Left Side:

    Back View:

    If interested feel free to contact me.

    • Amesbury Road Interiors June 11, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      Thank you for sending me the pics! Since the posting Nancy has been given a facelift. I just need to post about it. Unfortunately I don’t have a use for the night stand or know of anyone who does. It should not be hard to sell, mid century furniture is so popular right now. I’ve seen pieces similar to yours at flea markets selling at $45-$150. It’s all over the map. Good luck to you!

  3. Michele February 22, 2016 at 12:17 am #

    I just picked up a dresser that is the exact number 620 today!!! The two pieces must go together! I got mine for $60.00

    • Amesbury Road Interiors March 7, 2016 at 8:28 pm #

      That is exciting! Where did you pick the dresser up and does it need a lot of work. Would love to see a pic.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What To Do With Nancy? « Amesbury Road Interiors - July 30, 2011

    […] I wanted to have Nancy sanded and ready to be stained by now.  Who is Nancy you may ask? She is my $20 Craigslist find that came to live with us.  Click the link above to see what I am talking about.  Lets bask […]

  2. Dining Room Thoughts « Amesbury Road Interiors - July 31, 2011

    […] all this talk about Nancy and what to do with her I thought I would share some ideas for the space itself.  Remember it is a […]

Leave a Reply

